Julie and Julia

I usually reserve my blurbs about the books I read for the Book Bag section of my blog, but I just finished I book I really enjoyed and felt like putting a little something out here about it.  The book is Julie & Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously by Julie Powell. This book does not have the best rating on Amazon, nor did the blogger who wrote about it on our public library’s website give it very favorable props, but I simply adored it!

People reviewing the book have said Ms. Powell simply whines and has a potty mouth. I thought her writing really revealed her true feelings, even if they did seem a bit whiny at times. Who among use never whines? I whine a lot and I admire that Powell puts her well-worded whining out there for anyone to read. A bit of foul language doesn’t offend me either. I have heard plenty of foul language in my life and even use it from time to time.

The project behind the book is interesting. Powell decides she is going to spend one year making all the recipes in Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, vol. 1. In doing so, she hopes to find more meaning in her life. At the time of the project, Powell is a government agency temp, married, and living in a tiny apartment with three cats. As part of the project, she also starts a blog to record the progression. This was before blogging was as mainstream as it is now (I don’t know that I even knew the word blog back in 2003…), and Powell gained a large following, was interviewed for news programs and newspapers, and eventually got a book deal out of the whole thing.

I found myself relating to Powell throughout the book. I enjoy trying out cooking, but am not quite adventurous enough to try out MtAoFC, plus all that butter would totally ruin my weight loss progress over the past 6 months. I also feel my thoughts run along the same lines as Powell’s; she is definitely a snarky one!

RR, when you read this post, please go out immediately and get a copy of this book. I think you will like it as much as I did. You need to read it before the movie comes out in August, and then we can go see it together! Powell also has a second book coming out about the same time as the movie: Cleaving: A Story of Marriage, Meat and Obsession.

I don’t really know anything about Julia Child other than what Powell writes about in her book, but I certainly enjoy Julie Powell! For those interested, Powell still maintains a blog. I just added it to my Google Reader.

3 Comments

  1. phairhead said,

    July 7, 2009 at 11:02 am

    awesome, can’t wait to check it out at the library

  2. mom said,

    July 3, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Did you put your review on Amazon? You should.

  3. Rachel said,

    July 3, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I definitely want to read this. I have always been a HUGE fan of Julia Child. The movie looks good too.


Leave a Reply

