When too many good things happen at once

Getting laid off last October was bad. The feelings of hopelessness when perusing job postings was worse. Then it was updating the resume and preparing all the paperwork that goes into applying for a job once a semi-appropriate one was located. The ensuing onslaught of rejection letters without the benefit of an interview was horrible. Actually having interviews and then not hearing anything or getting that “we went with another candidate who better met our needs” really stunk. I went through this for about 8 months. I know many people are dealing with similar situations and have been for longer periods of time, but for me, this was a first and it seemed really, really bad. I had worked at least part-time pretty much since I was 16 and never had a problem finding something. Now I had two degrees, one a master’s, and there was nothing.

Last Friday I finally had an interview and a job offer all in the same day! It was one of the first jobs I had applied for after being laid off: Family Case Manager for the state’s Department of Children Services. I was friends with someone in the department and figured I had an “in.” But last October when I applied, there were no openings. I was pre-screened for the position via phone and then told my application would be kept on file. Then there was silence until last week.

At the time I interviewed I knew it was for a full-time position and that I had been accepted to a graduate program to get my master’s of library science degree. I wasn’t sure what to do if I received a job offer since it didn’t seem possible to do both full-time job and full-time school. (I know, people do it, but this was about me, and for me, it didn’t seem possible.) I decided I would do the interview and go from there. Heck, I am horrible at interviews and I was warned beforehand that this was one of those “tell me a time when…” interviews that I am particularly horrible at. I figured I wouldn’t even get an offer. But it’s a decent paying job (more than I’ve ever made before) for the state, and I had been so excited about applying for it way back when, so I had to at least give it a try. You know the aftermath.

I had made the decision on my drive home from the interview that if I happened to be offered this job, I would take it. I would defer my enrollment into graduate school and if I ended up wanting to pursue that degree at a later time, I still could. And that was that.

Yesterday I got my official acceptance letter from the graduate school I applied to. I had previously only been notified of my acceptance via email. With my acceptance letter I also received a letter saying I’ve been awarded a Dean’s Fellowship. As long as I am enrolled full-time, I receive $250 per credit hour taken towards my tuition. This is so exciting because I’ve never been awarded any kind of financial aid for school other than Stafford loans and I am already paying back the ones from my bachelor and previous master programs. I also looked through the paperwork a little more closely, and even if I defer my enrollment, I still have to pay the enrollment fee, which I thought was deferred as well.

So now I have to make the decision of whether or not to try to go to school while doing this full time job. And it would have to be full-time school to take advantage of the Dean’s Fellowship. Just when I thought I had everything figured out.

Side note: I made a romper! Picture posted on my art page.

4 Comments

  1. Mr. Apron said,

    July 3, 2009 at 5:49 am

    Well? Nuh? What are you going to do? Don’t keep us in suspense like that, yo!

    • lilseed said,

      July 3, 2009 at 8:14 am

      Problem is I don’t know what I’m going to do yet. As I type this I am sitting at the library on my last volunteer day. My advisor for school is out until next Monday, so I’ve not had a chance to talk with her yet. I’ve still got some time to make a final decision, but will post once that happens. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  2. mom said,

    June 29, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Can you do the online stuff at night? I think you have the right stuff to do both!

  3. phairhead said,

    June 28, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    wow, that’s huge! congratulations : )


Leave a Reply

