July 13: the day I rejoy the workforce!

Way back last October when I got laid off, one of the very first places I put in an application was with the Department of Family & Children Services because I have a master’s of social work. Last week I got a voicemail from our local DFCS asking if I were still interested in a position with them and would come in for an interview. Well, heck yeah! The voicemail was left at approximately 8:50am and I didn’t get it until early afternoon. By the time I called them back, they had filled up all their interview slots, but would hold on to my application for the next time they had an opening. Bummer! I applied months and months ago and this was the first opening they had.

So, this week I get another voicemail saying they are hiring again and would I like an interview? I called them right back and arrived for my interview at 12:40 this afternoon. Now, interviews are not my forte – especially not those “tell me a time…” interviews, which this was. I felt totally flustered, my usual interview reaction. But I was there for about an hour and things seemed to go pretty well. I called M. on the way home and told him the interview went okay and that I would know soon because they are moving fast and are supposed to let people know either way this afternoon or Monday, at the latest.

I got home about 2:00 and had time to change, turn on HGTV and catch most of Designer’s Challenge when my phone rang. I answered and was told I was being offered a job! Finally! July 13th is my start date – the day I will need to begin a 6-week long training course in the state capital. M. is not so excited about the 6 weeks, but having a two-income household again? He is thrilled! And so I am!

2 Comments

  1. Sister said,

    June 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Congrats! 🙂 What is it you’ll be doing?

  2. phairhead said,

    June 27, 2009 at 7:03 am

    Congratulations!!! Fantastic news!!!


Leave a Reply

