The Morning Drive

I don’t have to drive much, even when I am working my drive is 10-15 minutes, mostly on the interstate. I don’t see much of anything other than farmers’ fields and cars whizzing past me. (Especially since I go the speed limit and most interstate drivers don’t appreciate that and have to zip around me as soon as there is an opening in the left lane.)

Today I had a doctor’s appointment on the west side of town. I usually don’t have much call for going over to the west side. We live north of town, closer to the east side. To get to the west side, I had to travel a busy highway with several lights. Plenty of time to observe other drivers and people out and about.

About midway in my highway drive I noticed the guy in front of me was doing a weird driving-in-the-middle thing. Have you seen people do this? I have and I always wonder how they can drive like that. You know, you see this person in their car and they have their head partially or completely in front of the rear-view mirror. This guy was like that. How can you have the upper portion of your body in the middle of your car when you drive?!

Well, usually these driving-in-the-middle people tend to be those young guys who think they are gangster-rappers and they have the old boat-length cars with peeling paint, rust spots, spouting black smoke, and the thousands of  dollars stereo system. But the guy in front of me this morning was driving a fancy schmancy Lincoln Towncar and was in a suit. I can only assume he had a laptop or some other high tech device in the passenger seat and was doing a little mobile office during his commute. The only time he straightened up in his seat was when he answered his cell phone with his left hand.

Then I notice to my right that there are three men holding up a banner announcing “Shame, shame, shame on you Denny’s!” Nothing else. They are obviously protesters to the Denny’s across the highway, but they aren’t really all that noticeable and you have to guess what they are shaming Denny’s for. More than likely it’s because when the Denny’s moved from the old location a bit further north on the highway to the current location they may not have used local workers for the remodeling job, but I am only speculating because that seems to be the theme of protesters in this area.

I don’t know what the point of these three guys standing out there is. They are not demonstrating in anyway – just chatting while holding their “Shame on Denny’s” banner which also doesn’t explain what they are doing.

I was also assaulted by two cars and their black, burnt oil pollution before arriving at my destination this morning. And the doctor’s prescription? New shoes. Many women would have been thrilled by this. But I hate, hate, hate wearing shoes or even socks.

The doctor recommended a pair of 600 series New Balance walking shoes for my left heel tendinitis. She said that should help correct the problem, provided I wear them as soon as I am up and until I go to bed. She also recommended NB because as she put it, “They are reasonably priced at about $40-50.”  Spending $40-50 on new shoes is definitely not “reasonable” to someone who is certifiably barefooted, and I really, really don’t want to wear shoes all day. But I guess if I don’t my tendon will shorten and tighten to nothing and I will lose movement in my heel. Or I will end up with bone spurs that need to be removed with surgery and I want that even less than the shoes. So, shoes it is.

3 Comments

  1. mom said,

    June 16, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    did she give you a splint to wear at night

    • lilseed said,

      June 17, 2009 at 6:58 am

      Nope, no splint. I am going shoe shopping today. Kohls is having a one day sale and shoes are 25-50% off, plus I found some Macy’s coupons, so will have to do some comparison shopping.

  2. phairhead said,

    June 16, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    sorry about the foot wear but you don’t wan’t a hump back,do ya? : )


Leave a Reply

