May

May will be a busy month for me. Here’s what is coming up (so far).

Monday, May 4th: Will be returning to my old job temporarily (6-8 weeks) to help out while another staff member has surgery. It will be good to earn some money again and work with my old buddies, but I’ve been off work so long now I don’t know that I ever want to go back! I have no choice…

Tuesday, May 5th: Attending a seminar at the library on plants for our region. I’ve been taking lots of walks around the neighborhood lately and would love to start gradually adding some landscaping to our yard. Right now our yard is a blank canvas.

Wednesday, May 6th: Lunch with a great friend at Chili’s and interviewing with a local news station for their “Hire Me” week. Hopefully this will generate some employer interest in me. I’ve never been on TV before, so new experience for me.

Sunday, May 10th: Not only is it Mother’s Day, it’s my 30th birthday too! It’s also my first short-term weight loss goal deadline. As of this morning, I need to lose another 2 pounds to make it. Starting today off with a 45 minute walk around the neighborhood was a good start. Check out my art page the week after Mother’s Day for pictures of the gifts I made.

Monday, May 11th: Attending a book discussion at the library on The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng. I have got to get some reading time in this week and review the discussion questions! Don’t forget to check out my Book Bag page for a list of what I’ve read.

Saturday, May 16th: A local school corporation is having a job fair that I would like to attend, plus the library is having a seminar on writing your memoir. These overlap, so I may have to make a decision on which to attend.

Monday, May 18th: Our niece turns 4 years old. I have plans to make a dress for her out of a pillowcase. Pictures to be posted on my art page once completed.

Sunday, May 24th: Going to a graduation cookout party for a friend’s daughter. She was also the only person I’ve managed in my career. She was our summer office assistant before I was laid off. I will at least have a card to post on my art page.

Sunday, May 31st: A good friend’s birthday.

In the midst of all that, I will also be continuing my job search, researching library science careers, deciding if I want to pursue a MLS degree, looking for ways to save on our household shopping, trying to get some time in to complete some skirts (bought the fabric ages ago and haven’t used it yet), keeping up the house, searching for new, healthy recipes, and lots of other things. I should have some good blog posts coming!

Happy May!

2 Comments

  1. phairhead said,

    May 3, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    busy month ahead. i’m going to try my hand at sewing this summer. remember to breathe : )

  2. mom said,

    May 3, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Sounds like you have a good May planned. Any idea what kind of stuff you want to put in the yard?


Leave a Reply

