My Favorite Salad

In late January I started focusing on myself and my overall health. For me, this meant a big focus on what I ate, incorporating exercise into my daily routine, and weight loss. With a few tools, I’ve been pretty successful. To date, I’ve lost 24 pounds and have developed some short term goals to work on as I progress towards my ultimate goal. ?

I’ve tried different strategies to lose weight before, but have never had the results I’ve had this time around. A big part of the problem with previous attempts was censoring what I ate to a point where I could not keep with the plan. Not this time! While I have focused on more balanced meals and snacks and portion control, I really have not been too restricted in what I eat. I have never been a big sweets eater, so that helps. And, while I have always drank diet soda because I just liked it better than regular, I decided to cut that out and drink tea instead.

I’ve picked up several cookbooks at our library to help me along the way and find recipes that will satisfy me and also M. who is trying to gain weight. During the course of experimenting with different things, I found a salad I really enjoy and thought I would share it here. This salad is huge and it can be huge and still very healthy because of what is thrown in. So, get out a big bowl and try this out for lunch or dinner. This salad is a full meal on it’s own, but is low enough in calories and fat that you can add a small side to it, too.

The ingredients - mix and match as you like!

The ingredients - mix and match as you like!

You can’t see it, but there is a bag of romaine hearts I’ve washed and cut up in the back. I like to use romaine heart or bok choy as my salad base. Then we have Kraft Light Asian Toasted Sesame dressing, orange, yellow, and red peppers, a portabella mushroom, broccoli florets, snow peas, yellow squash, and Starkist Tuna Creations Sweet and Spicy.

Greens are the base of the salad

Greens are the base of the salad

I begin with the romaine or bok choy, then add in the snow peas (broken in half) and the broccoli florets.

Veggies are chopped and added for color flair!

Veggies are chopped and added for color flair!

I then chopped up about half of my portabella mushroom, 1/4 of each of the peppers, and about half my yellow squash and add these to my green veggies. The yellow squash is my favorite veggie in this salad.

The salad is dressed up with tuna and dressing.

The salad is dressed up with tuna and dressing.

Final step is adding the tuna – and yes, I use the entire pouch. Tuna is light and good for you (provided it’s packed in water and not oil). A bit of dressing is layered on top (1-2 tablespoons) and then everything is mixed up. The approximate macronutrient breakdown for this salad is 33 grams of protein, 30 grams of carbs, 2.75 grams of fat, and 289.5 calories.

A complete lunch - very filling!

A complete lunch - very filling!

I finished my salad off with a small side of Stacy’s Simply Naked Pita Chips and pinto bean spread. Arizona Diet Green Tea with ginseng is the final touch to this healthy, filling lunch.

1 Comment

  1. phairhead said,

    April 10, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    you should try edamame (soybeans). low in fat but really flavourful.

    congrats on the weight loss. i am finally back down to a size 10.

    stacy’s pita chips kick ass!!


Leave a Reply

