Goals

I have a FaceBook account and have connected with several relatives and old high school friends through the account. One of my high school friends recently posted that he had lost 11 pounds. This inspired me to comment that I, too, had recently lost 20 pounds. He commented back asking me if I had a goal. I did, but all I had was a long-term goal and I know it is going to take me a long time to reach that goal in a healthy way.

I thought about it some more and decided in addition to my long-term goal, I should develop some interim goals too. So, here’s a list of some shorter-term goals I have come up with and some rewards for reaching those goals.

  • Lose 10 additional pounds by my birthday – May 10th
  • After losing additional 20 pounds, get a new haircut
  • Lose 20 pounds between May 10th and my 10th wedding anniversary – July 10th
  • After losing additional 20 pounds, get a massage

After that, I will need to re-evaluate my goals, but for now I’ve got some smaller steps to shoot for.

3 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Looks like very obtainable goals. Right now my will power is pretty nil, maybe once the weather is decent here it will get better.

  2. Rachel said,

    April 7, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    I am taking a blog break from afternoon work. Let me just say, congratulations! I admire your dedication & hard work. You seem to be going about this process the right way. Looking forward to lunch!

  3. phairhead said,

    April 7, 2009 at 10:31 am

    good for you. and weird side note, you and my father share the same birthday


Leave a Reply

