What’s up with that?!

Have you ever had one of those days when you find yourself saying, “what’s up with that?” to almost everything you see? I have had one of those days so far today.

7:00 am: M. leaves for work, then comes back into the house for the forgotten cell phone, then leaves for work, then comes back into the house for something else, I don’t remember what, then actually leaves for work. M. usually isn’t so very scatterbrained, perhaps it was the fact he fasted last night and this morning so he can have blood work done.

9:00 am: M. called to tell me the doctor didn’t specify what kind of blood work he needed done on his paperwork, so the clinic ran a full work up and got three vials out of him. He also wanted to tell me he saw a car hit a bird. M. was full of all kinds of gross and semi-gross this morning.

9:50 am: I check the outside temperature so I can dress appropriately. On Tuesday it was almost 80 degree here. Today it is 32!

10:00 am: I head out to Wal-Mart to get some shopping done. I had to greet the geezerly old man at the door to get a “good morning” out of him. Usually those greeters are all over me with “good morning” and smiles. I then had to contend with gaggles of elderly in those motorized carts dashing around the store (one also ran into my cart while I was in the checkout line) and mothers with small children zipping around and cutting off my aisle changes. To my surprise, the cashier at the checkout line was pleasantly friendly and helpful! She processed gift receipts for the clothing and toy I picked up for our 1 year old nephew’s birthday even though she had already scanned and bagged the toy.

10:50 am: I attempt to leave the Wal-Mart parking lot and have to be extra diligent to avoid being hit by elderly drivers not paying attention to their surroundings. Making left-hand turns in front of oncoming traffic, ignoring people in the crosswalk coming in or going out of the store, and idly driving across 6 parking lanes with no notice of traffic driving in the actual driving lanes.

11:00 am: A brief intermission from “what’s up with that.” I had a nice lunch with a friend from grad school and got to meet her daughter for the first time. While initially grumpy from a nap on the drive over to the restaurant, Ashlyn was a delight at lunch. She sat perfectly in her highchair, ate her food, and mimicked all sorts of things, including my sticking my tongue out at her to indicate sucking on the table was icky. What a cutey!

12:00 pm: I go across the street from the resturant to have my eyebrows waxed. Why do I feel the need to get hair ripped out of my face?

12:30 pm: I am unpacking my Wal-Mart purchases and Luigi thinks the onesie I bought for our nephew is a chew toy. When I tell him “no” and move him on, he decides my re-usable Wal-Mart bags are the new chewies.

1:00 pm: I have everything put away, changes into my at-home lounging clothes and sat down to check email, FaceBook, and write this post.

3 Comments

  1. lilseed said,

    March 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    We have a Target and I enjoy shopping there much more than the Wal-Mart, but I needed some chicken breasts and our Target isn’t a Super, just a Greatland, so we have a mini grocery section – no chicken breasts.

  2. phairhead said,

    March 12, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    yr not kidding about girly grooming! I’m Italian and have embarrassing facial hair. But I think my love would like to kiss me if I was supporting a ‘stache : )

    I avoid the Mall-Wart at all costs, is there a nice, clean, surburban Target near you?

  3. Storm said,

    March 12, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    And you leave off my seeing “The Mystery Machine” (the awesome part and main reason for the call) on the roadway but remember the gross stuff on the 9AM call? What’s up with that?!

    -M


Leave a Reply

