It’s a milestone day!

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions – they just give me something to aspire to failing at. However, since I have been laid off since last October, I decided to focus on me a bit. This entire topic is not something I would typically write about. I like to focus on other people and how they are affecting me, not about me, and just me. But this is all about me!

Weight has always been a struggle for me, like many people. I lost a significant amount of weight around my sophomore or junior year of high school and looked pretty good for my senior year and my wedding. After getting married, I steadily gained weight with very little success at losing any. I have also had problems with depression over  the years, and of course, weight issues and depression can go hand in hand. About a year ago I got the depression under control with a daily low dose of Fluoxetine (generic Prozac). I felt pretty good about myself after that, despite being overweight. Heck, why not? I had a wonderful husband who loved me for who I was, a great family, and good friends.

About two or three weeks ago, I decided since I have plenty of time with no job, I would start trying to focus on myself, including weight loss, good nutrition, and feeling even better about myself. I started with buying My Weight Loss Coach for the Nintendo DS. This “game” comes with a pedometer and focuses on keeping you motivated towards moving around and eating better with daily objectives and challenges. I combined this with Wii Fit (which we already owned). It was good for a start since motivation has always been a big draw back for me. I started to lose some weight, but needed more of a focus once I got the motivation under thumb.

I knew I needed more intensive exercise and a more focused nutrition plan. I don’t do gyms and working out in front of other people, so I picked up My Fitness Coach for the Nintendo Wii. This “game” is great! You begin by doing a fitness test so Maya, your Wii personal trainer, can help you find a fitness goal and then she customizes workouts based on your goals. I just completed my first physcial challenge which measures progress (or lack of) after completing about 10 workouts with Maya. I showed progress in all areas – weight and inches lost and more strength and endurance. Exciting!

To focus on my nutrition, I borrowed a book from my in-laws. The book, The Diet Docs’ Guide to Permanent Weight Loss: Secrets to Metabolic Transformation, was written by a local doctor and a personal trainer. The information was easy and entertaining to read and made sense. The best thing about the book for me was that it isn’t just a doctor telling you what you need to do – this doctor actually wrote the book because it is a program he followed to lose weight and maintain his health. I am starting my second week of the nutrition plan today and have had a pretty steady weight loss over the past week.

Today marks my first 10 pound loss since I started focusing on myself! I give myself a warm snarky!!

As a little added bonus, I had a really good interview last week for a job I’m excited about. The position would be with a private agency that handles therapeutic foster care homes. The position I interviewed for is foster parent coordinator and I would recruit and license foster homes, among many other duties. The office is very small, which I like, and I enjoyed all the people currently working in the office. They are conducting the final interviews this week, so I am hoping to hear I got the job next week. We will see…

6 Comments

  1. Amanda said,

    February 25, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Good job! Congrats on losing 10 lbs. Isn’t it a great feeling?!

    I started counting calories last year (before the wedding) and it really helped me. I lost 10 lbs. just by counting and not exercising. It really helped me with portion control. I had no idea how many calories were in what I was eating. It was an eye opener.

    Keep up the good work and stay motivated. Keep us updated about the job too.

  2. charlottesal said,

    February 23, 2009 at 12:14 am

    I think it’s great that you are taking this new found time and doing something positive with it. It’s important to develop ourselves and take time to focus on that. I think women especially feel guilty focusing on themselves.

    One of the greatest things I did for myself last year was find a natural pharmacist and get him to check my hormone levels, it affects so much! I would advise that if you can do it…even at a young age that can affect not only where your body is but your depression too.

    I have also encouraged people who have been laid off to volunteer and help out in the community so as not to focus on anything negative.

    I know you will do very well with your committment. Kudos to you!!

  3. maren said,

    February 22, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    congratulations on the weight loss & particularly on focusing on yourself. my boyfriend put on some weight after going on anti-depressants on returning from iraq (admittedly, some is due to his habit of being sedentary & video game playing)
    i weigh less than i did way back in high school, but i’d like to be in better shape, all around for my well-being. unfortunately, every time i try to do a workout program in the last year, i’m struck down by severe & excruciating arthritis/joint pain about every 5 weeks due to complications from a medical condition i was diagnosed with in college. i have an appointment with a rheumatologist tomorrow, so we’ll see what they say my options are, physically therapy or otherwise.
    keep up the good work!

  4. phairhead said,

    February 21, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I know exactly where yr coming from. I was hugely (no pun intended!) when I had slowly gained back all the weight I had lost.

    Dieting is a full time job!

    Congrats on yr milestone. Job well done

  5. mom said,

    February 21, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    And still keeping fingers and toes crossed for the job.

  6. mom said,

    February 21, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Maybe we should do this together. I fell off the wagon so I quit weight watchers. Did get the wii and the wii fit now if I would only use it like I should. So you think the fitness couch is a good idea? Congrats on the 10#s, its a wonderful start. Do you think the book is better than the rest out there? Here is a web site I use once in a while for recipes http://www.skinnyweek.com its the site of one of the ww leaders but you don’t have to belong to look at it.


Leave a Reply

