The Coming Change

While I most likely will not watch the inauguration coverage on television today (I have to get some house cleaning done and those sick germs washed away), I do feel hopeful that this country will see a change for the better over the next year.

In the past, I had voted only once – and not in a presidential election – despite having turned 18 in 1997. I voted on a local school issue. I don’t remember what, but M. had made some kind of deal with me that he would do something for me if I voted in the preliminaries. I did. I voted for Hilary, but of course, that was not to come to pass. But the preliminaries with a strong female contender and a strong African American contender promised to be historical no matter who won in the preliminaries. So I continued to follow the election with half an ear, but that was more attention than I’d paid in past years.

I voted for the first time in a presidential election last year, and I waited anxiously for the results. I was happy when all the votes were tallied and the man I had cast my vote for won. The state I live in, traditionally a red state, even went blue this year. So, even though I don’t have any plans to plunk down and watch Obama come into office today, I still feel proud of being part of this country’s history. I am hopeful that this will be the change we need. And it feels good to hold that kind of optimism for the coming year.

4 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    January 24, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Amazing panoramic pic from the inauguration:

    http://gigapan.org/viewGigapanFullscreen.php?auth=033ef14483ee899496648c2b4b06233c

    You can zoom in and out.

  2. Storm said,

    January 24, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I’ll take the Clinton years a million times over the HORRID Bush administration.

    Go Clinton and Go Obama!!! WOO HOO!!!

  3. Sister said,

    January 24, 2009 at 10:18 am

    It would feel more like a change if every appointee weren’t a former Clinton administration member.

  4. serendipity hopeful said,

    January 20, 2009 at 7:00 am

    As a foreigner who wants good things to happen in any and all parts of the world, I wish Americans will work more in harmony with their president.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/inauguration-and-high-hopes/

    Keep the hopes alive.


Leave a Reply

