Christmas Gifts on a Budget

Christmas gifts are always a bit of a chore, if we tell the truth. What to get so and so? Do they already have one of these? Do we get a needed item or something that leans towards frivoul0us want? Is a gift card appropriate, or should there be more to the gift? To add to the regularly scheduled gift dilemmas, I am also unemployed this year, which has meant for me, greatly restricting my spending and actually trying to budget. I had to factor that into my gift-giving.

I turned to the trusty internet to help me find good, thoughtful, and budget-friendly gifts this year. I decided I would make gift baskets of things I personally made for my gifts. It was easy once I decided what would go into the baskets, then I just had to decide how many baskets to make, create a shopping list of necessary items, do some shopping, then assemble. I am pleased how everything turned out and hope that the people who got the baskets like them and the thought I put into them this year. (I did do some modifications for my brother since he is a single 26 year old male – he got a few handmade things and a gift card.)

Here is what ended up in the baskets:

Most of my idea inspirations came from a post on the blog Get Rich Slowly. Here are some pictures:

Brownies in a jar

Brownies in a jar

Smiley Eggs - when I tested the brownies, the eggs just happened to break like this!

Smiley Eggs - when I tested the brownies, the eggs just happened to break like this!

Christmas basket and it's stuffin's

Christmas basket and it's stuffin's

'08 Christmas Card - front

'08 Christmas Card - front

'08 Christmas Card - inside

'08 Christmas Card - inside

'08 Christmas Card - recipe cards

'08 Christmas Card - recipe cards

For M. I got the special edition DVD of the animated movie Star Wars: The Clone Wars. M. is a HUGE Star Wars fan! Here’s the card I made to go with the gift:

Christmas Card for M

Christmas Card for M

Christmas Card for M - detail

Christmas Card for M - detail

2 Comments

  1. Sister said,

    December 27, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    The gifts were very lovely and thoughtful. You still weren’t supposed to give us anything though!
    Mom called you old (snicker, snicker).

  2. mom said,

    December 26, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Thought this was wonderful ideas. Like I said yesterday getting creative in your old age!!!!


Leave a Reply

