Desultory* Monday

*because thesaurus.com didn’t give me any synonyms for random beginning with an “m”

So it’s the beginning of a new week and we’re getting ever closer to Christmas and then a new year. I had a list of things I was going to do today: ship my family’s Christmas presents, go to the downtown library branch to get a book on therapeutic touch for cats, meet a friend for lunch. But we have arctic winds and rains sweeping the midwest and my area is under a winter storm advisory with road conditions getting worse as the day goes on and the temperatures plummet. So instead of being on my way into town I am sitting at my computer eating homemade almond maple granola, drinking tea, and writing this post with In Her Shoes droning on the tv.

Our new cat, Clover, is staying firmly sequestered in his “safe room.” Oh, he has darted out a couple times, but his pupils become so large when he does that is appears he has the black eyes of death. If he sees anyone on his covert venture, he runs back to the “safe room” and squashed himself into his bed, behind the toilet, or behind the door. Poor thing. I have no idea what happened to him to make him so scared, but I am determined to create a safe, loving home where he will eventually feel comfortable.

I have posted previously that I enjoyed the Twilight Saga books, however the movie was a disappointment. Today in Mental Floss’s Morning Cup of Links there were a couple Twilight spoofs. I think they are funny. If Twilight was 10 Times Shorter and 100 Times More Honest and Twilight: The Christmas Version.

M. has been looking for more things for us to do together, rather than spending times in our separate rooms, doing our separate hobbies. Something other than watching the thousands of hours of tv we watch, albeit, together. So we recently purchased the Dungeons and Dragons 4th edition beginners set. I read through the starter manual and skimmed the dungeon master manual (since I am to be the dungeon master, or am I a dungeon mistress?). Anyway, I got our trial adventure all setup, we created characters, and then the action was supposed to begin. We placed our tokens on the board, rolled the d20 die to determine the order of action, and then, everything stopped. I guess I don’t really know how to play the game afterall, and the manual seems confusing to me. Perhaps we are too old to begin the training? I was hoping to get the book Dungeons and Dragons 4th Edition for Dummies from my libaray, but they only have the Dummies book from 2005, which is an old D&D edition. I requested the book through inter-library loan and now wait to see if my request will be fulfilled.

So now I need to decide what I am going to do on this cold blustery Monday morning since my outing has been weather juked. But before I leave to go on a home-based adventure, I give you the Monday Meme from Curious as a Cat.

1) What one quality of your father’s would you most like to share?
His basic goodness. I am sure he has done some wrong things in his life, but they are unbeknown to me.

2) Among all the people you know, who would you like to have known when s/he was a child?
RR, whom I did not meet until I had my first job out of college. I think we would have gotten along famously, and probably could have helped each other through some tough times.

3) If you wanted to meditate for a whole day, where would you do it?
Somewhere very green, warm, but not hot. Somewhere outdoors where nature would surround me. Somewhere with running water adding ambient sound.

4) What is your favorite thing to do in a city park?
I don’t visit city parks.

5) Show and Tell. What comes to mind first when you see this picture? Or, tell a story if it reminds you of one.
I think of my past job working in international adoptions (in the past year African programs were explored and they opened an Ethiopia program). Although I no longer work there, some of my favorite people are still there, or were laid off from there.

5 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    December 16, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Yuck!!!

  2. Sister said,

    December 16, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Our temp this morning was -20 w/ a windchill of -41!

  3. Brother said,

    December 15, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Oh noes! Whatever will you do with such horrible weather? We have -16 and -37 with wind chill! And our roads have snow, drifts, and ice!

    • lilseed said,

      December 15, 2008 at 5:40 pm

      I know, I know, but I am more worried about other people and how they can’t drive in this weather than myself. Driving on ice is never fun, no matter where you are!

  4. Anonymous said,

    December 15, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I think we would have made a fabulous two-some in grade school too! We need to get together again.

    I also read the part about Clover and his PTSD-like behavior. Time will likely heal a lot of his worry. Henderson took a good 4 weeks to warm up to his new enviornment, and he still becomes absolutely terrified if he sees another dog. I think we are both still likely in the “attachment & bonding” phase, but touch therapy is probably a good start. (As I write this, Henderson is laying at my feet and audibly snoozing.) I love my dog!!


Leave a Reply

