The sun has set on Twilight, for me anyway

Ok, I am sure you have heard about the Twilight hype. If you haven’t, Google ‘Twilight’ and find out. I read the Twilight saga and I really liked the books. I liked them despite the fact they were written for teenagers. Probably written with teenage girls in mind. And I am not a big fan of teenage girls, wasn’t even when I was a teenage girl.

I didn’t know anything about the books (much like my Harry Potter ignorance) until my 16 year old niece mentioned she was reading them (and this girl is not a big reader, so they had to have some appeal to keep her interest). I still didn’t really look into them, but then the first book popped up on a book group I was following and a coworker mentioned them, so one afternoon I picked up the first two books at Target and read them. And liked them. They reminded me of the Vampire Diaries series I liked so much in high school. I ended up picking up the last two books from the library (no easy feat when they are in such demand) and finished off the series. Just FYI, the final book, Breaking Dawn, was my favorite.

So, when the movie based on the first book was announced, I was excited. My friend and coworker was excited. Even though the movie was months away, we made plans to see it together. Then the work lay offs hit. First me, then my friend. But we decided we would still see this movie. We deserved some fun, right? Then I just forgot about it for a bit.

As the opening day for Twilight approached, we started making plans to see the movie. My friend was all geared up to go the premiere. The premiere at midnight Friday morning. I agreed even though I cannot remember the last time I stayed out so late. I didn’t really think about midnight Friday morning being Thursday night until my friend messaged me on Thursday to let me know she wanted to hear more about my latest job interview that night. Not a huge deal for me since I had no job to go to the next day, but it was just that I was unprepared for a movie that night and I hate being unprepared!

So I set out from my home at 10:40 pm to meet my friend and her two teenage stepdaughters (ages 17 and 15). I arrived and found a parking spot about a mile away from the theater. Oh, well, easier to get out after the movie, right? There was a spotlight at the front door and the local news was setting up to record the night’s event. I got in line and picked up my preordered ticket and then waited.

While waiting I got to marvel at the copious amounts of teenage girls flowing into the theater. I knew that of the 3 showings our theater was having that night, 2 were sold out. I knew this was a big deal for millions of teens all over. But I was still awed at the number of girls out so late on a school night. I bet there were classes full of zombie girls too tired to care Friday!

Then my friend and her stepdaughters arrived. They got their tickets and we stood in the refreshment line. As we inched towards the overpriced popcorn and treats, I started to droop. Not even in my seat yet and over an hour away from the movie starting and I was already thinking about how I was usually snuggled up with M. in bed this time of night.

After following the masses into the darken theater, we found three seats that were in a good position. Not too high up, not too close to the front. Then there was more waiting for the movie to actually begin. It was a bit amusing to watch the teens come in. They were so excited for this movie! My friend and I chatted about jobs and other mundane things as we waited. We also did some listening. The vernacular of teenage girls is quite amusing.

There was a group of very chatty girls in the row behind us. They were talking about the books, which book they were currently reading, which one they liked best. They discussed the relationship between Bella, the human main character and Edward, the vampire main character. Of course, Bella and Edward had to fall impossibly in love, one girl would swoon. But he left her in the forest all alone, another would exclaim. She could have been eaten by a deer! My friend and I snickered. Ah yes, those darn carnivorous deer!

Then the movie started. To claps and cheers. To a big eye roll from me. I find teenage enthusiasm amusing. The movie was just okay for me. Like most movies based on books, I liked the book much more. I know many people are just thrilled that Robert Pattison played the part of Edward, but he just wasn’t what I pictured Edward as when I read the books, so it was hard for me to get on board with the Edward swooning. It wasn’t death sitting through the movie, but it didn’t leave me with the “movie high” I usually have after seeing a movie I really, really like.  Also, seeing a movie with a bunch of teenagers is not all that thrilling for me (although it can be very funny at times). They talk, they clap, they whistle. But I expected it.

At the end of the movie I was thrilled to hear Radiohead’s 15 Step and the movie did leave me wondering how the 2nd book will be adapted to the big screen. I will probably see all the movie adaptations even though I won’t be as excited for them as I am for the Harry Potter movies.

I arrived home at 2:30 am, snuck around the house quietly so I didn’t wake M. and then climbed into bed to sleep until 10:00 am!

My 16 year old niece wants to see this movie. If my mother-in-law doesn’t take her, I will. And that’s okay with me. I will sit through this movie experience again, it was okay. Just not my favorite and it did not live up to my liking of the book.

1 Comment

  1. RR said,

    November 25, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I am so proud that you remembered the carnivorous deer comment.


Leave a Reply

