And the house filled with smoke… **Updated**

My mother-in-law will be having a Thanksgiving shindig at her house some time this weekend. I decided to avoid my antisocial self and will accomany M. Even though the thought of 8 adults and 8 children crammed into that house makes me anxious!

So I also decided I would not show up empty handed after the Pioneer Woman posted a great looking recipe for caramel pumpkin cheesecake on her cooking site. Traditional pumpkin, but not in the traditional pie form. Because I had never made this particular cheesecake, I decided I better get the ingredients for 2 cheesecakes and make one today so M. and I could test it.

After lunch with a friend and some assorted errands, I arrived home with all the fixings for two of these cheesecakes. I got a few things squared away around the house and then set to making the “test” cheesecake. All went well. The crust turned out nicely, the mixing of the filling yielded a lovely light orange gloop that when tasted reminded me of my mother’s pumpkin rolls – which I miss. (I should get that recipe…)

And then the cheesecake went in the oven to bake for the appropriate 1 hour and 15 minutes. About 10 minutes into the baking I realized I had a problem. My springform pan was leaking a bit into the bottom of my oven. And the drippings were then burning. And the burning caused smoke. Within about 15 minutes my kitchen and living room were filled with smoke. So despite the cool air outside, I opened the door off my kitchen leading to the porch to help ventilate – much to my kitties’ delight (they haven’t been out in ages).

When M. arrived home, we had a cold and smokey house, but a nice looking cheesecake. The cheesecake is currently setting in my fridge. Pioneer Woman recommends at least 4 hours in the fridge, but I don’t think it will make it that long. I plan to pull it out after writing this post and testing it out. I hope it turned out as delicious as it looks in Pioneer Woman’s pictures!

I also ended up slicing my palm when washing the blade from my food processor. 😦   There had better be somoe good results waiting for me in that fridge!!

***UPDATE***
I tried the cheesecake last night. Very yummy! Still reminds me of my mom’s pumpkin rolls. Here’s a couple pictures.

Caramel Pumpkin Cheesecake Sliced me a piece

Leave a Reply

