The First Week of Unemployment

True, the first week is not over yet, but I am feeling a little blog withdrawal. If you’ve been a follower of my blog, then you know a lot of my snark has come from work. Now that I am laid off, what shall I write (and more importantly, snark) about? I am thinking the cats and M. may get some more attention here, we’ll see.

For now, I am sure you are so wondering what I have been up to. The short answer is not much! I’ve cleaned my bathrooms, watched our Roomba zip around my living room, annoyed my cats, read books, and got some other home projects done. I finally got the Radiohead poster I had framed for M. hung as well as a poster I created and ordered from Shutterfly to remember the concert we attended this summer. (I would like to post a picture of the poster, but I used photos someone else took and am asking permission to post.)

Today I did stop in at the office. I went in early so I would have to talk with as few people as possible. I had forgotten the sweater I kept hanging on the back of my office door as well as a mouse pad I had made from a photo I took while in China and some pens. My plan when I left the house was to get in and out of the office as quickly as possible, run some errands – including a quick trip to the mall to get the appropriate undergarments for my gala dress, and then grocery shopping and back home.

Not being someone who frequents the mall, I did not realize that the stores there do not open until 10:00 AM. To me, this is just ridiculous! When I make a trip into town (we live about 15 minutes outside the city) I like to have my entire route planned out, get it all done, and get back to the safety of my home. So I had a definite plan when I ventured out this morning – the first time I ventured out of the house since arriving home from my final day of work last week. Pathetic, I know.

And the mall ruined it all. I did spend a little time at the office chatting with some people I love and truly miss. I then went to Target to get the much needed dishwasher detergent, Petsmart to get some needed pet supplies, and then even made stops at Walmart and Kohls to see if I could possibly obtain the undergarments there and avoid the mall altogether, but naturally, they did not have what I needed. All that was done by 9:20 am.

So, not wanting to tempt myself into spending unnecessary money and wasting gas driving around to other shops, I headed back up the highway to complete my grocery shopping and then headed home. I unpacked the groceries, had some lunch, and then headed back to town to go to the dreaded mall.

While at the mall who called me? Ms. Higher Up from the office. “Do you miss me,” she asked. “Um, not yet,” I replied. Ms. Higher Up proclaimed how much she missed me and then told me Bossman is looking for some project I worked on for him (or he thought I worked on for him – he couldn’t remember). So, here I am at the most awful shopping place on earth, shopping for the most dreaded garments on earth, and I get a call from the office that told me my services were no longer financially feasible (we have to stop the “financial bleeding,” you know). I basically told Ms. Higher Up I had no idea what she was talking about, got the damn bras I went to the mall to get, and headed back to my hidey hole home.

Ah, the excitment of unemployment!

PS – the email I sent to the photographer about posting a picture of my Radiohead poster came back undeliverable because his inbox is full, so I guess I won’t be posting it. 😦

Leave a Reply

