*UPDATED* It’s all in the details… except when the details don’t make sense

I was digging around in my closet last night looking for appropriate undergarments to wear with my gala dress and came across a pair of pants I forgot I had. So I wore the pants today even though they are a little casual for the office. I took 3 inches off these pants and the legs are still too long! I also noticed that there is a really cute band of fabric the manufacturer used for interfacing along the waistband – but this little detail is on the inside of the pants. It makes me wonder why they decided to use this cute flowery (not too flowery) fabric on the inside of the pants. No one is ever going to see it but me. And I’m only going to see it when taking off or putting on the pants. It’s a little detail that makes no sense.

So it goes in the office as well – little details, or rather decisions about little details – make no sense. I will be gone as of this Friday and my office will be sitting there empty. Someone in the office wants to move into my office because she is taking on the entire role of the other person who got laid off in addition to her current role and feels the space in the office will allow her to stay focused and organized.

You would think that the office would want to keep the remaining employees’ stress levels as low as they can, that if something is suggested that would make the office climate a little nicer, make jobs a little more bearable, that the reaction would be, “Yes! Please do move down the hall if that is what will make your time at this place better!”

But of course, that is not the reaction that this request received. Instead, Ms. Higher Up freaked out when this was proposed and exclaimed, “We are not playing musical offices! We are selling this building!”

Yes, the building has been put up for sale, but who knows when an offer will come through that is acceptable to Bossman? Besides, as far as I know, no one has begun scoping out where the office might be relocated to, so there will definitely be a gap in-between a sale and an actual move. So why not allow the move to happen and not increase everyone’s stress by denying it?

Ah, I will not miss the insaneness that comes with working here sometimes!

MH is so right – this DOES need the BIG EYE ROLL!! Especially since it’s Ms. Higher Up – she is going to make my eyes roll right out of my head before I’m done here!!

2 Comments

  1. lilseed said,

    October 8, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    MH, so right, so right. I’ve updated!

  2. MH said,

    October 8, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Hallelujah, sista! I’m thinking this deserves a BIG EYE ROLL!!!


Leave a Reply

