Office Nostalgia

Nostalgia is one of my favorite words and I’ve had plenty of time to think about nostalgia since learning the organization I work for has to let me, yes ME, go to help stifle the “financial bleeding.” (Boy, if Bossman knew about this blog he would surely regret saying “financial bleeding…”)

I have had severe mixed feelings about ending my work here. I look forward to not working, at least for a little bit (which totally freaks M. out), but I also fear the unknown. How long will I be unemployed? How am I going to start over somewhere new when I was just really finding my niche here? These thing always turn out all right in the end, but its the leading up to the good part that puts a little flutter in my stomach. But mostly I am excited about some time off and finding something new. In fact, M. found me the best prospect thus far yesterday – a graphic artist position where the company is willing to train – no design experience necessary, just computer skillz. We’ll see how that goes.

Back to office nostalgia. I was chatting with some office buddies yesterday afternoon and we were reflecting on something that happened awhile ago: a period of totally high schoolery at the office. One of my favorite office people was involved in a situation and once people heard about it, it became the topic of much office gossip. (This was before most of my office buddies were employed here and I was still floating around detached from everyone.)

I think I was the very last person in the office to hear this particular piece of news, and who told me? Well, M. did. Even my husband, who worked for the office on a contractual basis, knew before me.  (I told you, this was a very high school period for the office.)

So once M. and the person here who told him left my office I thought about how I was going to react to this news. I really didn’t know the people involved and it didn’t effect me or how I did my job. Did I need to do anything with this news? The whole situation really flashed me back to high school where I had been the topic of rumors and gossip more than once and I thought about how that made me feel. So I made a decision – I would confront the person being gossiped about.

My decision to confront her rather than continue to spread the gossip was threefold: 1. I knew how much it sucked to be the topic of people’s whisperings and I didn’t want anyone to feel like that. 2. I wanted her to have someone to talk with, if she needed someone. 3. (The selfish reason) I didn’t have a lot of connections with people at the office yet and thought this might be a good way to begin one.

So I asked her into my office even though I’d barely spoken to her during her previous time with the office. I told her what I knew, that I knew what it felt like to have people talking about you, that I was here if she wanted to talk. My voice shook and I know I turned all red – I was so nervous.

But it all turned out just right in the end. Most of the gossipy high schoolers were fired or left of their own accord. Better people were hired. I ended up liking the person I confronted more than I ever thought I would. And that became one of my most treasured office moments because it was really the first time I was direct and confrontational with anyone I didn’t know well and I got a great friend out of it.

Oh, happy endings really do happen!  <sappy, sappy, sentimental>

4 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    October 3, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    The ad may have said “5k1llz0rz” though. 🙂

  2. lilseed said,

    October 3, 2008 at 9:17 am

    RR: It wasn’t meant to make you cry – laugh, always laugh!!

    Sis: No, the “z” was all my doing. 🙂

  3. Sister said,

    October 3, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Did the ad really use the word “skillz” with a “z?”

  4. RR said,

    October 3, 2008 at 8:48 am

    This one almost made me cry. I am going to miss you in the office on a daily basis, although I am totally committed to seeing each other outside the office for lunch and Wii get-togethers.

    –RR


Leave a Reply

