Ah, humble pie

My dessert this afternoon was a big slice of humble pie. When the layoffs at my office started several months ago, I was not worried. I felt very secure because my job had unique features, they needed me, I was so very important. Surely they could not parcel out my duties to other people in the office, right? Apparently, wrong.

Bossman came into my office today and closed the door. He told me he was giving me my two week notice, that he just didn’t know what else to do – how to stop the bleeding. (The financial bleeding the office is going through.) I guess the solution is to apply another layoff tourniquet – myself and another coworker are the bandages.

I am vacillating between knowing this could turn out to be a great opportunity to find something new and fear of not finding anything. Also, I will be leaving somewhere I have been for four years, somewhere I had grown comfortable and like almost everyone I work with.

For now I am trying to keep the positive in mind. Monday the job hunt begins in earnest. Wish me luck internet world.

3 Comments

  1. Sister said,

    September 29, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Sorry to hear that 😦 Hope the job hunt goes well! Good luck!

  2. Brother said,

    September 28, 2008 at 2:53 am

    I wish you the best of luck….That really sucks….hopefully this all turns out best for you.

  3. EM said,

    September 27, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Thank you for posting. I can’t believe this is happening. I hate the unknown, but I guess everyone does.


Leave a Reply

