I shall now join the Meme World…

In browsing around the internet I have often stumbled upon the word “meme.” I never really paid much attention, but today I was looking through the blog suggestions Google Reader had for me and one of the blogs I looked at said something about Monday being for meme-ing. I decided to look into this meme thing a little more and came across The Daily Meme. According to The Daily Meme, a meme is

In the context of web logs / ‘blogs / blogging and other kinds of personal web sites it’s some kind of list of questions that you saw somewhere else and you decided to answer the questions. Then someone else sees them and does them and so on and so on.

I like to write, but don’t always have something to write about. These meme things may be what I need to spark my writing on down days. I tried something similar in the past (NaBloPoMo), but felt too constricted by the “blog about a specific topic daily.” So I browsed about a bit and here is my first meme (from Curious as a Cat):

1) Are you a leader or a follower?
Depends on the situation I am in. If I am somewhere I am comfortable with the people around me, I can be a leader. In situations that are unknown or uncomfortable to me I am a follower.

2) Who is the person you are most candid with?
In my adult years I have become a fairly open and candid person, but M. (my husband) will always be the person with whom I am most candid with.

3) What one thing in your life would be easiest to change, but you’ve never gotten around to it?
As soon as I read this the only thing I could think of is my non-landscaped yard. When we built our house we could have paid the builder to add basic landscaping, but I wanted to do it myself. Three years later and our yard is still all grass…

4) If you could convince any single person to change his or her mind about one thing, who would you pick and what topic would you work on?
M. I would love it if I could convince him world travel would be a good thing!

5) Show and Tell. What comes to mind first when you see this picture? Or, tell a story if it reminds you of one.

Not much comes to mind when I see this owl – maybe “That’s one snarky bird?”

2 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    September 15, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    The owl makes me think of “My Cousin Vinny” when they are out in the woods trying to get some peace and quiet, only for the owl to keep screeching really loudly. 🙂

  2. Cat. said,

    September 15, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Welcome to the world o’ memes! Thanks for picking me–I feel especially special now, the more so since you think owls are snarky. 😉

    I’m actually laughing pretty hard at the landscaping answer–I feel yo’ pain, in a huge way.

    Anyway, thanks for stopping by and playing along with the catty questions. See you next week, I hope.


Leave a Reply

