Communication

Communication came up in our manager’s meeting yesterday morning. This is the meeting we have directly prior to the glorious staff meeting I wrote about yesterday. We were talking about how we get information to partner agencies. Bossman made the comment that anyone under 40 years old was probably fine with email, texting, all that new fangled electronic communication. If they are over 40, well, forget about it! You need to call those people on the telephone. You know, you enter the area code and the seven digit number and listen to the ringing while waiting for the other end to pick up. Or, you could pull out some paper and a pen and write them a letter, seal it up in an envelope, lick a stamp and wait for your friendly neighborhood post-person to pick it up and deliver it through the snail mail service!

Okay, Bossman, your comment was a little antiquated and generalized, but there is a bit of sense behind it too. Especially when it comes to me. My ultimate preference is to not communicate with the world in general. I am content in my cocoon of snarkiness. All I need is my M., my kitties, and once in awhile my mom, dad, sibs, maybe a friend. I am not all that dependant on other people and like to hermit away in my house (or my office if at work).

But if I do need to communicate with the world at large electronic would be my way to go. Not texting though – I can’t handle trying to type out my wordy thoughts on an itty bitty cell phone. Not even the ones with full keyboards. Give me email, give me blogging, or failing those, give me a pen and paper. For me, phones are the bane of my existence. I would even rather speak to someone face to face than on the phone.

I have a very mild case of Telephonophobia (I so wished it had a cooler name). I can make phone calls, but very much do not like to and will avoid it whenever possible. I am not sure when this came about, but cannot remember a time in my life when I truly enjoyed talking on the phone, not even as a teenager. I used to do a lot of note, letter and story writing since my teen years were before the internet really took off.

com·mu·ni·ca·tion [kuh-myoo-ni-key-shuhn]

–noun
1. the act or process of communicating; fact of being communicated.
2. the imparting or interchange of thoughts, opinions, or information by speech, writing, or signs.
3. something imparted, interchanged, or transmitted.
4. a document or message imparting news, views, information, etc.
5. passage, or an opportunity or means of passage, between places.
6. communications,

a. means of sending messages, orders, etc., including telephone, telegraph, radio, and television.
b. routes and transportation for moving troops and supplies from a base to an area of operations.
7. Biology.

a. activity by one organism that changes or has the potential to change the behavior of other organisms.
b. transfer of information from one cell or molecule to another, as by chemical or electrical signals.
Leave a Reply

