One Wednesday…

One Wednesday someone at work is going to stand up during one of our staff meetings, take up their pen and jab it into their eyes and hears rendering them deaf and blind. No one will be surprised if it’s me, will they?

It’s one thing that we have these weekly marathon meetings where all the manager have to meet at 9am and then go directly into a staff meeting that usually lasts at least until 11am. It’s another thing that Bossman and Ms. Higher Up have to fight in front of everyone during these meetings. It really, really makes me want to jab something in my eyes and ears.

Bossman remarked he was having a day where he was hyper-sensitive to the need for clarity. What this meant for staff in the meeting is that we had to sit idly by as he tried to make the 100 mile per minute jumbled thoughts in his head come out in semi-coherent sentences. This is fine, the staff here has been around long enough to know when Bossman is thinking about how he wants to state something or when he’s trying to organize his thoughts. What this means for most staff is that we let him process and wait for whatever to come out of his mouth.

But not Ms. Higher Up. She has been here almost as long as I have so she knows she needs to let Bossman have his time. But does she do that? Of course not. What would a Wednesday morning be without our dose of intense meeting tension as she tries to talk over or correct Bossman? While she tries to make his thought process go in the same direction as hers – which it rarely does.

While I’m writing about Ms. Higher Up, I also want to make a plea to her to stop volunteering me to do every little miscellaneous task that comes up in our meetings! You know what, I know what my job is here and I know what I need to do, what I have time for, and how I can parcel out my time. If you think I should do something, perhaps you could ask me to do it rather than just stating to everyone that I will do it – they all know I will most likely end up doing it anyway.

I’ve probably also mentioned this before, but it needs saying a lot. Ms. Higher Up, if you want me to take the meeting minutes, please do let me take them. Don’t sit there, take your own notes and then reword mine so they say the same damn thing, just in your words. Don’t act like your questions are meant to clarify things for me. I do listen, take copious notes, and if I need anything clarified, I can voice that question all by myself!When Bossman is out of the office and you end up sitting near me, please don’t ask me a bunch of questions while I’m trying to take minutes.

Oh, Wednesday, I lament you even more than this past Monday!

5 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    August 27, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    PRESSURE COOKER!!!!!!!!!

  2. AB said,

    August 27, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I would not be surprised if it was you who jabbed a pen in his eye. Remember, you were the one we suspected of being a serial killer out of our group šŸ˜‰

  3. KE said,

    August 27, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Isn’t it though? I just wanted to either crawl under the table or run screaming from the room.

  4. lilseed said,

    August 27, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    It would be awesome if during one of those tension-filled moments someone just stood up and started running aroud the room screaming and waving their arms. The behavior of Bossman and Ms. Higher Up is sometimes that ridiculous.

  5. MH said,

    August 27, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I have been waiting for this post all morning. Thank you for saying what we are all thinking (and complaining about to each other).


Leave a Reply

