I don’t promise anything…

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve posted. I’ve started several posts recently, but they just don’t go anywhere. So, here I am again trying to write something I think people will be semi-interested in reading and again failing. I am going to finish the post, but I’m not promising anything. If you get bored, go ahead and hop on over to another blog. I’ve got some really good ones linked over in the sidebar.

Today I’ve felt some of my old depression creeping in. It may be a one-time thing, but I will have to keep an eye on it and talk with my doctor if it begins to be an ongoing re-occurrence. I am again in the state capital training for my new job as a CPS assessor. That is over three hours from M. and my boys (the cats for my infrequent readers). That could be the reason for the downer mood tonight. It could be the weather. Today was kind of dark and dreary even though it didn’t rain.

It could be the abuse slides we had to look at today in training – bruises. I didn’t feel too bothered by it, so we’ll have to wait and see how I feel in the next couple days. We will be going over burns and sex abuse. People keep asking me how I like the job so far. I have no answer for them. I think this is going to be an incredibly hard job for me to do. Not because of the children in bad homes and situations – I can handle that, most of the time. What is going to be hard is that I need to go to people’s homes and engage them in conversation. I have to be able to talk with people and ask them questions to draw out information. I am not the most talkative, engaging person. I have to work at meeting people, talking with people, asking people about themselves. But this is a job I want to be able to do, so I am willing to put in the energy and effort it is going to take me to do it, but I just don’t want to screw it up in the meantime. Because it’s important. Because it can mean the safety of children.

Tomorrow brings a new day and I am looking forward to that. Better yet, I wish I could fast forward to 8pm Friday evening…

4 Comments

  1. Storm said,

    August 18, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Miss you babe! Hang in there, you’ll be home soon, right where you belong. :) Love you!!! -M

  2. phairhead said,

    August 18, 2009 at 11:59 am

    i can relate very well.

    hugs! (if it helps)

  3. Rachel said,

    August 18, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Hang in there, N! I know you can do it and do it exceedingly well. Let’s try to get together next week for lunch or something, provided you are in town.
    -R


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

